Prescott Valley Personal Injury Lawyer

Prescott Valley Personal Injury Lawyer

Prescott Valley Personal Injury Attorney

A personal injury can be a traumatic experience. When someone suffers harm at the hands of someone else’s negligence or intentional acts, there is more to deal with than the injury itself. They usually have to deal with other damages in addition to their recovery. If you have suffered a personal injury, a Prescott Valley personal injury lawyer can help.

Prescott Valley Personal Injury Lawyer

The Kaiser Law Group: A Law Firm You Can TrustM

Navigating the law regarding personal injuries while going through your recovery can be tough. At Kaiser Law Group, we can help steer you through the legal process so you can focus more on your recovery. We can inform you of the law and keep you up to date with each step of the process. We know that every case is different. We can look over the details of your case to fight for the damages you deserve.

What Is a Personal Injury?

A personal injury in Prescott Valley, Arizona occurs when someone is harmed by another person or an entity through either their negligence or intentional acts. The injured party may be entitled to recover compensation from the offending party for the damages incurred as a result.

To prove that a personal injury happened, the victim must prove that the defendant had a duty of care, that they breached that duty of care, and that the injuries they incurred were a direct result of that breach of care.

How to File a Personal Injury Claim

Personal injury claims are civil claims and not criminal. It is highly recommended that you hire a personal injury attorney as they will be knowledgeable on how to file and all the requirements you must meet in order to pursue damages.

Personal injury claims are filed with the Arizona Superior Court. Claims are filed at the county court that deals with the location where the incident occurred or where the defendant resides. If the amount of your claim is less than $3,500, it can be filed with small claims court, which is typically an easier and quicker process.

A personal injury claim begins when you file a complaint with the clerk of the court. In the complaint, you will outline various details of the incident, including where and how the incident occurred, the defendant’s identity, how the defendant’s negligence or intentions caused your injury, details of the injuries themselves, and the damages that you wish to seek.

Generally speaking, in Arizona, you cannot mention the exact amount that you wish to recover in damages in your claim. Instead, you must classify it in one of three tiers. These tiers for damages are:

  • Tier 1: $50,000 or less.
  • Tier 2: $50,000 to $300,000.
  • Tier 3: $300,000 or more.

An attorney can help you decide which tier is most appropriate for your case, as in some instances, tiers may come with special rules depending on the details of your case.

Damages in Personal Injury Cases

The amount and type of damages you can seek in a personal injury case will depend largely on the circumstances surrounding your case, as well as your injuries. Some common damages that can be sought include:

  • Medical expenses. This includes the cost of treatment, surgeries, or medications. This also includes the cost of rehab or any future expenses related to the injury.
  • Lost wages. This includes compensation lost from missed work due to the accident. This can also include loss of future wages or loss of earning potential if your injury will prevent you from working in the future.
  • Property damage. This refers to any property damage that occurred, such as car damage in an accident.
  • Pain and suffering. An injured person can also claim pain and suffering for physical and emotional distress.
  • Emotional damages. This can include post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety, and depression.
  • Loss of quality of life. This can include a person’s loss of being able to enjoy certain daily activities and hobbies. A person can also make claims for the loss of enjoyment in their relationships with their spouse and family members.


Q: How Much Do Personal Injury Lawyers Cost in Arizona?

A: The cost of a lawyer in Arizona will depend on how much your particular lawyer charges. Most personal injury lawyers in Arizona charge a contingency fee. This means that you will not have to pay your lawyer upfront. You only pay them if you are awarded compensation. A common contingency fee is 33%, so if you are awarded $10,000, for example, you would pay your lawyer a third of that, which would be $3,300.

Q: Can You Sue for Emotional Distress in Arizona?

A: You can sue for emotional distress in Arizona. Emotional distress is non-economic damage, which is one that is not easily determined through a set cost, but the amount is determined at the discretion of the court. You can seek compensation for emotional distress if the distress was a direct result of the defendant’s actions or negligence.

Q: How Far Back Can You Claim Personal Injury?

A: You can make a claim for personal injuries as far back as two years. This is the statute of limitations for most personal injury claims. There are a few exceptions to this rule. For example, if you want to file a claim against a government employee or entity, the statute of limitations is one year. Also, if the injury was reasonably discovered at a later date, the statute of limitations begins at the time of discovery.

Q: What Is the Bodily Injury Limit in Arizona?

A: There is no bodily injury limit in Arizona. So, there are no caps on how much you can claim in a case. However, there may be certain caps that an insurance company will pay depending on the accident. Speaking with a lawyer and your insurance company can help you determine how much you should claim when seeking damages.

Contact The Kaiser Law Group TodayM

If you have suffered a personal injury, having the legal guidance of a trusted attorney can help you seek the compensation you deserve. The Kaiser Law Group can help. Contact us today to get started.

Prescott Valley
Practice Areas